Post by gmoussa73 » Fri Oct 01, 2010 2:52 am

i need some help, i installed the latest opencart version v1.4.9.1 problem is ..admin timeout is so rediculously short! my host is ipage they said:
On our platform, the maximum session time out limit is set to 60 sec. Unfortunately, it is not possible to increase this limit.
that is so not practical...i have been working on some parts for 10 and 15 minutes..then boom! logged out and all the work is lost....there should be some solution around this...i have zero knowledge of programming and php things....i just search the forum for answers of my questions and follow what the ppl instruct to do......can anyone help plz? at least if there is any solution to re-log into the same page i was working on to continue working and NOT loose all the efforts spent on it?
opencart is a very good shopping cart...i had scored some progression towards publishing my shop and start operating...we sell books...we need to spend time filling info and reviews....not fare to be kicked out and loose the work!!
Last edited by i2Paq on Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Title adjusted

Post by JAY6390 » Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:18 am

It's possible to set a timeout in javascript that would run an AJAX call to your admin area say every 30 seconds. This would mean every 30 seconds you would keep the session alive. The best advice however that I can give you is move hosts if they have such a ridiculous time limit. Also, you have to remember that you will need to also do this on the front end, otherwise your customer orders will disappear after 60 seconds of inactivity!

Guru Member

Location - United Kingdom

Post by gmoussa73 » Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:27 am

maaaaan thats so stupid...very annoying ,i cannot complete work on the shop this way???? there should be a way around it....can you explain your suggested way please? how can i do it??

Post by gmoussa73 » Sun Oct 03, 2010 6:39 am