Post by Northy » Fri May 09, 2014 10:20 pm

Hi,

First I installed v1.5.6.4 to my root directory and all went to plan, I managed to get the demo store up.

I then decided I'd really like it in a sub directory /shop, so I deleted everything, created the directory and installed it all again.

Now when I complete step 3 and click the Continue button I get a blank page.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

G

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri May 09, 2014 10:16 pm

Post by uNeverNo » Sun May 11, 2014 1:42 am

you did not clear up the database and reinstall the data into the same database? If so, this could be the cause of the blank page.

Post in the forum yet no one's willing to help? Contact me for free opencart coding or configuration assistance. Reach me at uneverno1986#gmail.com(replace # with @). But no free extension development request. Sorry about that :( It could take a few days to make a complicated mod.

If you feel I have helped, a donation is optional and appreciated. Image


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:49 am

Post by Northy » Mon May 12, 2014 3:36 pm

Sorry I don't know what you mean?

G

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri May 09, 2014 10:16 pm

Post by uNeverNo » Mon May 12, 2014 4:28 pm

when you install opencart, in step 2 you are asked to input the database name, user, password etc.
The first time successful instalation inserted all opencart data into the database. then you delete all opencart files but I guess did not clear all the inserted data in that databse.

So the second time you installed opencart in the sub-directory, in step 2, you still used the same databse. Because all the data, which the opencart install script would insert, was already in the database, the script failed to insert the same data into it.

That's probably the reason why you got a blank page for the second time installtion.

Post in the forum yet no one's willing to help? Contact me for free opencart coding or configuration assistance. Reach me at uneverno1986#gmail.com(replace # with @). But no free extension development request. Sorry about that :( It could take a few days to make a complicated mod.

If you feel I have helped, a donation is optional and appreciated. Image


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:49 am

Post by Northy » Mon May 12, 2014 5:08 pm

Ah, now I get it, thanks.

How do I clear the database?

G

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri May 09, 2014 10:16 pm

Post by uNeverNo » Mon May 12, 2014 5:30 pm

Log into your cPanel, launch phpMyAdmin, and drop all tables in the database which you input during your first time opencart installation.

Then try to install opencart again.

Post in the forum yet no one's willing to help? Contact me for free opencart coding or configuration assistance. Reach me at uneverno1986#gmail.com(replace # with @). But no free extension development request. Sorry about that :( It could take a few days to make a complicated mod.

If you feel I have helped, a donation is optional and appreciated. Image


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:49 am

Post by Northy » Mon May 12, 2014 7:02 pm

Sorry, really dumb question time, but how/where do I do that?

G

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri May 09, 2014 10:16 pm

Post by uNeverNo » Mon May 12, 2014 7:08 pm


Post in the forum yet no one's willing to help? Contact me for free opencart coding or configuration assistance. Reach me at uneverno1986#gmail.com(replace # with @). But no free extension development request. Sorry about that :( It could take a few days to make a complicated mod.

If you feel I have helped, a donation is optional and appreciated. Image


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:49 am

Post by Northy » Mon May 12, 2014 8:24 pm

Do I have to pay for cPanel?

G

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri May 09, 2014 10:16 pm

Post by uNeverNo » Mon May 12, 2014 9:08 pm

No. if you buy a server from a hosting company, the cPanel control panel is by default installed on your server, which you can use to manage your server.
The login details of your cpanel should have been sent to you. If not, ask your hosting company.

Post in the forum yet no one's willing to help? Contact me for free opencart coding or configuration assistance. Reach me at uneverno1986#gmail.com(replace # with @). But no free extension development request. Sorry about that :( It could take a few days to make a complicated mod.

If you feel I have helped, a donation is optional and appreciated. Image


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:49 am

Post by Northy » Mon May 12, 2014 9:42 pm

OK, thanks, I've found that and am into phpMyAdmin. Do I just select each table on the left individually and click Drop?

G

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri May 09, 2014 10:16 pm

Post by uNeverNo » Tue May 13, 2014 12:45 am

Yes, select ALL tables in that database, which you inserted the opencart data into the first time you installed opencart, and click DROP. This will empty the database, so if you install opencart again, everything will go smoothly.

Post in the forum yet no one's willing to help? Contact me for free opencart coding or configuration assistance. Reach me at uneverno1986#gmail.com(replace # with @). But no free extension development request. Sorry about that :( It could take a few days to make a complicated mod.

If you feel I have helped, a donation is optional and appreciated. Image


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:49 am

Post by IP_CAM » Tue May 13, 2014 1:10 am

very, very good explanations!
you tried hard, I hope it works!

best regards,

Ernie

Ernie's OpenShop 1.75 with responsive Bootstrap Themes:
http://www.bigmax.ch - http://www.hitline.info - http://www.openshop.li
Image


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by uNeverNo » Tue May 13, 2014 1:18 am

IP_CAM wrote:very, very good explanations!
you tried hard, I hope it works!

best regards,

Ernie
I am happy if I help some newbies, 'cause I was also confused and miserable when I knew nothing about programing and before I decided to learn coding many years ago ;)

Post in the forum yet no one's willing to help? Contact me for free opencart coding or configuration assistance. Reach me at uneverno1986#gmail.com(replace # with @). But no free extension development request. Sorry about that :( It could take a few days to make a complicated mod.

If you feel I have helped, a donation is optional and appreciated. Image


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:49 am

Post by Northy » Wed May 14, 2014 6:28 pm

Thank you! I got it working! ;D

G

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri May 09, 2014 10:16 pm

Post by ufotje » Fri Jul 15, 2016 11:37 pm

I have the same problem, but for me is it the first time it gets installed, so I'm using a new database....

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 15, 2016 11:35 pm

Post by straightlight » Sat Jul 23, 2016 2:09 am

ufotje wrote:I have the same problem, but for me is it the first time it gets installed, so I'm using a new database....
In your host console, click on the error log icon. Do you see any recent error messages, based on the latest date and time regarding your install folder activities?

Tired of paying for service fees to export your database from other databases over Opencart?

Try those extensions for FREE: http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... aightlight

Regards,
Straightlight


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by karlpers » Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:41 pm

I just ran into this issue myself. The problem in my case was that the database user didnt have the right permissions to create/read database tables. That causes a blank page without any error message etc.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:35 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 20 guests