Post by jackiemj » Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:29 am

Hi there
I am trying to overcome a problem and I've tried to look at "inspect element" so that I can find out how to adjust things, but not getting anywhere.

These are a sample of my Sub-Category images
https://www.little-you.co.uk/kids-to-teens-gifts

I am trying to make them bigger and adjusting the size in Admin make no difference, so I'm guessing it's code work on the template. Could someone please advise me in anyway, so that I can make the images bigger please?
I am using version 2.0.3.1

Thank you
Jackie

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:11 pm

Post by d3z1gnr » Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:28 am

Hi jackie,

the image that is being loaded is P0510G45_2-100x100.jpg, suggesting that the old size images are still cached.

Top-right of the admin dashboard, look for the cog icon, clicking this will give you the option of refreshing or turning off the theme cache. If for any reason this does not fix the issue and you have access to FTP, you can delete the cached images from image/cache/catalog folder.

Mike Little
Director / Developer / Makes the coffee
Creative Digital Limited
http://www.creativedigital.co.nz


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:59 pm
Location - Auckland, New Zealand

Post by OSWorX » Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:00 pm

@d3z1gnr 2.0.3.1 (which is used) has no setting (cog) in admin dasboard!
@jackiemj ususally these definitions are made in the template settings > Menu > Extensions > Templates >> select used template and there Images >> Category

Image


User avatar
Expert Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by d3z1gnr » Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:30 am

I'd still check the image cache :)

Mike Little
Director / Developer / Makes the coffee
Creative Digital Limited
http://www.creativedigital.co.nz


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:59 pm
Location - Auckland, New Zealand

Post by jackiemj » Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:13 am

Thank you Mike and OSWorX , I shall try both and let you know what happens, thank you for your help.
Jackie

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:11 pm

Post by jackiemj » Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:41 am

OSWorX wrote:
Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:00 pm
@d3z1gnr 2.0.3.1 (which is used) has no setting (cog) in admin dasboard!
@jackiemj ususally these definitions are made in the template settings > Menu > Extensions > Templates >> select used template and there Images >> Category
Thank you for the help...but when you say it's located in the Menu....Extensions...Templates etc
If you mean the Extensions in the on the Admin Dashboard, I don't see any "Templates" in my "Extensions"
So, do you mean the menu in my FTP??
I'm a bit confused.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:11 pm

Post by jackiemj » Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:43 am

d3z1gnr wrote:
Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:30 am
I'd still check the image cache :)
Hi Mike
I have a lot of cache images to delete, would if be ok to delete them all?
I've deleted a lot already and that includes some of the image that are in my category and sub category and nothing has changed on the sizes unfortunately.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:11 pm

Post by d3z1gnr » Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:03 am

jackiemj wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:43 am
Hi Mike
I have a lot of cache images to delete, would if be ok to delete them all?
I've deleted a lot already and that includes some of the image that are in my category and sub category and nothing has changed on the sizes unfortunately.
Hi Jackie,

I'm not sure what @osworx is referring to either? Your image settings should be in Admin > System > Settings > Image Tab.

I would try deleting all images from within the folder image/cache/catalog/ - these will be regenerated upon page load.

IMPORTANT NOTE: only delete images from within the cache folder not image/ :)

Inspect the regenerated images and check what is being added as the suffix eg. -100x100.jpg - this should change to reflect the category image size you have updated. Let me know how you go.

Mike Little
Director / Developer / Makes the coffee
Creative Digital Limited
http://www.creativedigital.co.nz


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:59 pm
Location - Auckland, New Zealand

Post by OSWorX » Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:13 am

d3z1gnr wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:03 am
I'm not sure what @osworx is referring to either? Your image settings should be in Admin > System > Settings > Image Tab.
Sorry, my fault - what I mentioned is available from Version 2.2.x and later.
2.0.x has these settings under Backend (Admin) > System > Settings >> Image

And yes, deleting all images inside the cache folder - NOT image !! - will build cached images new.
But also when the settings are changed.

Another way of changing image sizes could be if your used template has its own setting - like Journal or Pavo had and has.
And a few others ..
You have to check those settings also if a custom template is used.

Image


User avatar
Expert Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by jackiemj » Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:35 am

d3z1gnr wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:03 am
jackiemj wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:43 am
Hi Mike
I have a lot of cache images to delete, would if be ok to delete them all?
I've deleted a lot already and that includes some of the image that are in my category and sub category and nothing has changed on the sizes unfortunately.
Hi Jackie,

I'm not sure what @osworx is referring to either? Your image settings should be in Admin > System > Settings > Image Tab.

I would try deleting all images from within the folder image/cache/catalog/ - these will be regenerated upon page load.

IMPORTANT NOTE: only delete images from within the cache folder not image/ :)

Inspect the regenerated images and check what is being added as the suffix eg. -100x100.jpg - this should change to reflect the category image size you have updated. Let me know how you go.
Hi Mike
I deleted the correct images :)
I changed in setting for image size and the regenerated images came up exactly the same with no change.
It looks like it might have to be changed in the template file :o

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:11 pm

Post by OSWorX » Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:36 pm

jackiemj wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:35 am
Hi Mike
I deleted the correct images :)
I changed in setting for image size and the regenerated images came up exactly the same with no change.
It looks like it might have to be changed in the template file :o
As it seems, our tips leads to nowhere ...
Question: what template you are using and which extension do you have installed?
Because if the shop would be standard and no extra extensions installed, it should work as described.

Image


User avatar
Expert Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by jackiemj » Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:50 am

OSWorX wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:36 pm
jackiemj wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:35 am
Hi Mike
I deleted the correct images :)
I changed in setting for image size and the regenerated images came up exactly the same with no change.
It looks like it might have to be changed in the template file :o
As it seems, our tips leads to nowhere ...
Question: what template you are using and which extension do you have installed?
Because if the shop would be standard and no extra extensions installed, it should work as described.
Hi there
I have a module for the Sub Category images, not sure if that's a standard module or added into the theme I am using, but even if I change the size of the image in there, nothing changes, even after deleting the cache.
I am using a theme called Shopy Kids by Focus themes on v 2.0.3.1 and have contacted them, let see if I get a reply.

Thanks
Jackie

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:11 pm

Post by OSWorX » Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:24 am

jackiemj wrote:
Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:50 am
I have a module for the Sub Category images, not sure if that's a standard module or added into the theme I am using, but even if I change the size of the image in there, nothing changes, even after deleting the cache.
I am using a theme called Shopy Kids by Focus themes on v 2.0.3.1 and have contacted them, let see if I get a reply.
Oh wonder ...
Not a surprise, exactly what I thought!
Why all of you cannot post such important things in your 1. post?
Why wasting others time?

Just one final note: did you ever disable the custom template, disable all additional installed extensions - and tried only once with the standard theme?
I guess no.

Image


User avatar
Expert Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by cyclops12 » Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:50 am

Jackie, have you got a subcat_images.xml file in YOUR-SITE/vqmod/xml folder ??

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by jackiemj » Thu Jun 28, 2018 4:33 am

OSWorX wrote:
Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:24 am
jackiemj wrote:
Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:50 am
I have a module for the Sub Category images, not sure if that's a standard module or added into the theme I am using, but even if I change the size of the image in there, nothing changes, even after deleting the cache.
I am using a theme called Shopy Kids by Focus themes on v 2.0.3.1 and have contacted them, let see if I get a reply.
Oh wonder ...
Not a surprise, exactly what I thought!
Why all of you cannot post such important things in your 1. post?
Why wasting others time?

Just one final note: did you ever disable the custom template, disable all additional installed extensions - and tried only once with the standard theme?
I guess no.
My apologies
I'm sorry I wasted your time
Jackie

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:11 pm

Post by jackiemj » Thu Jun 28, 2018 4:47 am

cyclops12 wrote:
Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:50 am
Jackie, have you got a subcat_images.xml file in YOUR-SITE/vqmod/xml folder ??
I have yes, but it's Ok, I will sort it out.
Thank you though
Jackie

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:11 pm

Post by cyclops12 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 1:34 am

Hey no problem, I seem to recall they are sized 100x100 in that file.
Good luck

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by jackiemj » Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:35 am

Yes they are 100 x 100 and I would like them bigger. I've changed the size in the subcat_image.xml file and it just messes the images up.
I think I need to do some changes in my themes stylesheet.
Thanks
Jackie

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:11 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests