Post by JAY6390 » Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:20 pm

Hi all

This simple little vQmod removes all of the common/home links on your site, replacing them with the default url
Note that this only works when SEO urls are turned on

Simply upload to your vqmod/xml/ folder

Enjoy!

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by dony_b » Fri Aug 26, 2011 2:40 am

Can this be done to remove the category name from the URL when you click on products when SEO URL setting is turned on ?

Example:

Current:
opencart.com/category/product-info

Change it to:
opencart.com/product-info

Its just better for SEO this way. I know the canonical url works but this is the proper way to do it.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:56 pm
Location - Boston, MA

Post by Xsecrets » Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:13 am

dony_b wrote: Its just better for SEO this way. I know the canonical url works but this is the proper way to do it.
well there are plenty of "SEO Experts" that will disagree with you who say that you need to have the category in the URL. I know because I suggested it be done the way you suggested a long time ago and the thread got flooded with "SEO Experts" having a conniption.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by dony_b » Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:43 am

Really?? Who the hell are these SEO experts that make absurd suggestions.

Look at some of the top online ecommerce retailers like Zappos who rank very well in search engines.

Do a search for "womens shoes" and see who shows up first and look at zappos URL structure.

http://www.zappos.com/womens-shoes ( category )

then you click on a product

http://www.zappos.com/sperry-top-sider- ... ?zlfid=111 (product)

Thats the way it should be and I dont understand why people are objecting to this since its also how search engines want you to have it as well.

Isnt there a way to do this ..has anyone figured this out as I searched the forums but wasnt able to find anything ?

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:56 pm
Location - Boston, MA

Post by JAY6390 » Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:18 am

The truth of the matter is that it makes little difference what your url structure is for SEO. Google mainly works off content and backlinks. If you're ranking highly in the search engines for womens shoes or whatever it will be for good content and lots of backlinks, not for having your url a certain way
Regardless of this, yes it's possible to do what you suggest, but its not something you can quickly change and it work from that mod

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Xsecrets » Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:44 am

dony_b wrote:Really?? Who the hell are these SEO experts that make absurd suggestions.

Look at some of the top online ecommerce retailers like Zappos who rank very well in search engines.

Do a search for "womens shoes" and see who shows up first and look at zappos URL structure.

http://www.zappos.com/womens-shoes ( category )

then you click on a product

http://www.zappos.com/sperry-top-sider- ... ?zlfid=111 (product)

Thats the way it should be and I dont understand why people are objecting to this since its also how search engines want you to have it as well.

Isnt there a way to do this ..has anyone figured this out as I searched the forums but wasnt able to find anything ?
Well pick anything that any "SEO Expert" has ever said and I can find you a different "SEO Expert" that says the exact opposite and claims the first doesn't know what he's talking about. It's all just snake oil sales if you ask me no one really knows what works other than google.
As far as making the changes to the way you want it just search the forums it's been outlined how to do it a few times.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by Maansy » Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:28 am

dony_b wrote:Can this be done to remove the category name from the URL when you click on products when SEO URL setting is turned on ?

Example:

Current:
opencart.com/category/product-info

Change it to:
opencart.com/product-info

Its just better for SEO this way. I know the canonical url works but this is the proper way to do it.
I believe opencart does that by defual when SEO is enabled and product SEO is defined.
Check here:
http://www.opencartstuff.com/all_templates/Paris_15
You get same thing using also this:
http://www.opencartstuff.com/Paris_15

Is this what you are wondering about?

ALL Templates :: 1.5.1+ Templates :: 50%-75% PRICE DROP ONLY at OpencartStuff.com


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:04 am


Post by JAY6390 » Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:52 am

No Dony_b wants to force URLs to not have the category even if you come through the category page

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by dony_b » Fri Aug 26, 2011 9:44 pm

Yes I am just looking to change the URL but I couldn't find anything specifically in any forums.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:56 pm
Location - Boston, MA

Post by Johnathan » Fri Aug 26, 2011 10:39 pm

It's actually a super easy change:

IN:

Code: Select all

1.4.x: /catalog/model/tool/seo_url.php
1.5.x: /catalog/controller/common/seo_url.php
REPLACE THE FIRST INSTANCE OF:

Code: Select all

$url .= '/' . $query->row['keyword']; 
WITH:

Code: Select all

$url = '/' . $query->row['keyword']; 
If you want sub-categories to not show their parent categories in the URL, then replace both instances of that line with the replacement.

Boom, done. 8)

Image Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:08 am


Post by dony_b » Fri Aug 26, 2011 11:38 pm

Johnathan wrote:It's actually a super easy change:

IN:

Code: Select all

1.4.x: /catalog/model/tool/seo_url.php
1.5.x: /catalog/controller/common/seo_url.php
REPLACE THE FIRST INSTANCE OF:

Code: Select all

$url .= '/' . $query->row['keyword']; 
WITH:

Code: Select all

$url = '/' . $query->row['keyword']; 
If you want sub-categories to not show their parent categories in the URL, then replace both instances of that line with the replacement.

Boom, done. 8)

Thanks a lot Johnathan and it works great with your price mod too.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:56 pm
Location - Boston, MA

Post by Johnathan » Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:00 am

Cool, that's always good to know.

Image Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:08 am


Post by okmarket » Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:49 am

cool

how can we move index.php?route=

like http://www.okmarket.com/index.php?route ... on/contact

to http://www.okmarket.com/contact

thank you again

China Wholesaler
http://www.okmarket.com
Image

David Wei


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jul 09, 2011 11:47 pm
Location - Guangzhou,China

Post by jordan » Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:21 am

Doesn't seem to work for me. Can you confirm it works with 1.5.3?

The Veloz Group
Beverly Hills Chairs: The leaders in ergonomic seating
Custom Tobacco: Customized cigars for any occasion


New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:55 pm

Post by jordan » Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:30 am

jordan wrote:Doesn't seem to work for me. Can you confirm it works with 1.5.3?
Scratch that. It was an issue with my vqmod.

The Veloz Group
Beverly Hills Chairs: The leaders in ergonomic seating
Custom Tobacco: Customized cigars for any occasion


New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:55 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests