Post by workwonder01 » Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:45 am

I think the system needs to have a field with unique value to make sure we do not upload duplicated items on our site. With the number of items increases, it would be very hard for us to memorize and check if the item has already been uploaded or not. Two many duplicated items will make the site look bad.

We need to have such a field for each item. So if we accidentially upload the same item, the program can pop-up an error message "Sorry. The same item has already been added [link to that item]."

Can someone answer this?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jul 15, 2010 3:22 am

Post by JAY6390 » Thu Jul 15, 2010 5:53 pm

Pretty sure this is what the SKU is for...

ImageImageImage

SEO MEGA KIT PLUS - Get your site ranking higher in the search engines
Better Product SEO URL's - Perfectly structured product links
SEO URL's Route Editor PRO - Make ANY url on your site have clean keywords - even third party extensions (remove index.php)


Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Xsecrets » Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:48 pm

well actually there are no checks to make sure the sku is unique though.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by JAY6390 » Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:50 pm

Ah I see. Would have thought this would be a basic addition to be honest. Could spice it up and run the query through AJAX to say "SKU already exists" or something like that as you change the field

ImageImageImage

SEO MEGA KIT PLUS - Get your site ranking higher in the search engines
Better Product SEO URL's - Perfectly structured product links
SEO URL's Route Editor PRO - Make ANY url on your site have clean keywords - even third party extensions (remove index.php)


Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Qphoria » Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:06 pm

Well sku was added later in time.. initially only Name and Model were (and still are) required fields
Would it be best to do a check for unique skus or models?

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by JAY6390 » Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:28 pm

don't think there's really much difference which really, whichever is easier. I guess since model is required it would make sense to have that as the UID

ImageImageImage

SEO MEGA KIT PLUS - Get your site ranking higher in the search engines
Better Product SEO URL's - Perfectly structured product links
SEO URL's Route Editor PRO - Make ANY url on your site have clean keywords - even third party extensions (remove index.php)


Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Johnathan » Sun Jul 18, 2010 5:03 am

Please don't make Model required to be unique. Some of us that don't have products with UIDs use that field for other things (since it's required to be filled in) and we don't want to have to add random numbers to the end of the field to enter a product.

If you do decide to use Model for the UID, at least make it only give a warning instead of making it a requirement.

Image
Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:08 am

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests