Post by OC2PS » Sat May 19, 2012 12:34 am

The content on different language pages surely is often pretty different.
The target audience are quite different.
Sometimes you want to pass on a URL to someone, and you want it to be language specific.
When Google etc access the pages, you want them to index all the languages, not just default.
For SEO purposes, one would like the slug to be appropriate for the display language.
etc.

I suggest that a language_id column be added to url_alias table and that this be used such that at least when SEO URLs are enabled then the SEO keywords are "multilingual" - there are different SEO keywords for each language, and these are used appropriately to display language-specific pages.

OC2PS
OC 2.3.0.2, vQmod 2.6.2, Journal2 theme
Arcfesték, Csillámtetoválás, Henna
Image
Check out: All my extensions | My FREE extensions


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:15 am
Location - Hungary

Post by JAY6390 » Tue May 22, 2012 10:01 am

This will allow for google indexing multilingual stores, however it doesn't allow you to add different urls for different languages http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... on_id=6424

ImageImageImage

SEO MEGA KIT PLUS - Get your site ranking higher in the search engines
Better Product SEO URL's - Perfectly structured product links
SEO URL's Route Editor PRO - Make ANY url on your site have clean keywords - even third party extensions (remove index.php)


Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by OC2PS » Tue May 22, 2012 5:44 pm

Jay, Thanks for this. You are a cool cat.

I have a couple of suggestions:
  • I understand that if you change the language switchers to links, then it is likely that Google (and other search engines) will be able to crawl and index the non-default language pages. However, could you also consider trying to add these additional language links to the XML sitemap?
  • I know this is a vQmod. That is very cool. But I also know that to maintain this you don't want to touch the tables, and hence the issue that one can't have different slugs for different languages. From SEO perspective that is a bit of a dampner. But I have a suggestion, though it might require a bit of work...I would be happy, and am willing to bet that 90% of multilingual OC users will be happy if you:
    instead of asking shop owners to input slugs for different languages (as I originally suggested), you create that slug (details below) and use that to create the URLs for non-default languages.
Creating slugs:
  1. Pick product name, category name or page title in the non-default language (because slugs have manually been created for default language already) under consideration.
  2. Convert spaces to hyphens.
  3. Convert multiple hyphens to single hyphens.
  4. (optional) For Roman script languages, strip accents i.e. convert special characters to ASCII. e.g. á â ă à to a, é to e, í î to i, ó ö ő to o, ș to s, ț to t, ü ú ű ù to u, etc
  5. Convert uppercase letters to lower case.

OC2PS
OC 2.3.0.2, vQmod 2.6.2, Journal2 theme
Arcfesték, Csillámtetoválás, Henna
Image
Check out: All my extensions | My FREE extensions


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:15 am
Location - Hungary

Post by JAY6390 » Tue May 22, 2012 6:19 pm

Hi

My uber Seo mod creates urls if you want to have a look at that. I am also considering adding all of the site map links to this mod as well

ImageImageImage

SEO MEGA KIT PLUS - Get your site ranking higher in the search engines
Better Product SEO URL's - Perfectly structured product links
SEO URL's Route Editor PRO - Make ANY url on your site have clean keywords - even third party extensions (remove index.php)


Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by OC2PS » Tue May 22, 2012 7:01 pm

Uber SEO http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... on_id=3550 looks closer...

Question: Can it generate separate slugs for different languages? Unfortunately your demo store is in English only. So couldn't check. (description says can be multilingual, but wasn't sure what that means).

The description says overriding disables multilingual. What exactly does this mean? Does this mean that if I decide to allow myself to edit slugs in my default language then I can't have appropriate slugs in other languages? If so, this is the only big item on my wishlist for this mod. It would be ideal if it behaved (from user point of view) a bit like WordPress..for default language, a slug is generated by the mod and put in the appropriate field, but this can be edited on product-by-product basis. For non-default languages, the generated slugs can't be edited.

I also have 2 questions about Uber SEO:
1. I have a production shop. What happens to my URLs when I install Uber SEO?
2. What happens when I change a product's name?

Of course, as you are already thinking of doing, adding all links to XML sitemap would be a very good thing.

OC2PS
OC 2.3.0.2, vQmod 2.6.2, Journal2 theme
Arcfesték, Csillámtetoválás, Henna
Image
Check out: All my extensions | My FREE extensions


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:15 am
Location - Hungary

Post by JAY6390 » Tue May 22, 2012 7:30 pm

Hi OC2PS

Answers to your questions
Yes it is multilingual if the urls are generated by the product name (as they are by default). If you choose to add a custom URL, it overrides this function, and any link for that product will have the override keyword instead

I've added French to the demo store for you now so you can see how it works. If you take a look at the iMac on the home page, you will see that the URL's show both for French and English with the custom urls, example

Code: Select all

http://demo.jaygilford.com/en/p/41/imac/
For English (the title is iMac for the product)

Code: Select all

http://demo.jaygilford.com/fr/p/41/french-imac-title/
For French (the title is French iMac Title)

If you changed the seo keyword for the product to "apple-imac" say, you would have

Code: Select all

http://demo.jaygilford.com/en/p/41/apple-imac/
for English and

Code: Select all

http://demo.jaygilford.com/fr/p/41/apple-imac/
for French. Note the keyword at the end is both the same

In terms of changing titles, if you change a product title, the first set of links will change automatically. The old URL's will still work as well, bringing your customers to the product even after you change the url

With regards to your current live shop, all your current product, manufacturer, information and category URL's would cease to work, and you would need to remove the seo keywords for them unless you don't have overrides set

As for the multilingual seo keywords. It would be a nice feature, but would mean messing around with a lot of tables as you say, so for now this isn't going to be an option I'm afraid

Kind regards
Jay

ImageImageImage

SEO MEGA KIT PLUS - Get your site ranking higher in the search engines
Better Product SEO URL's - Perfectly structured product links
SEO URL's Route Editor PRO - Make ANY url on your site have clean keywords - even third party extensions (remove index.php)


Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by OC2PS » Tue May 22, 2012 7:39 pm

JAY6390 wrote:With regards to your current live shop, all your current product, manufacturer, information and category URL's would cease to work, and you would need to remove the seo keywords for them unless you don't have overrides set
So, basically I will have to set override option as Yes. Then my current URLs will hold, and for new products, categories etc URLs can be generated automatically, right?

Regarding overrides - the multilingual capability will be universally disabled or would it only be disabled for products that actually use the override?

OC2PS
OC 2.3.0.2, vQmod 2.6.2, Journal2 theme
Arcfesték, Csillámtetoválás, Henna
Image
Check out: All my extensions | My FREE extensions


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:15 am
Location - Hungary

Post by JAY6390 » Tue May 22, 2012 7:43 pm

OC2PS wrote: So, basically I will have to set override option as Yes. Then my current URLs will hold, and for new products, categories etc URLs can be generated automatically, right?
no unfortunately not. Uber SEO urls adds the prefix at the start like you see, which required a new controller to be made to route all urls through instead of the default one, so it doesn't use seo keywords at all unless you have overrides enabled
OC2PS wrote: Regarding overrides - the multilingual capability will be universally disabled or would it only be disabled for products that actually use the override?
It only disables it for the specific product you set it for, not universally

ImageImageImage

SEO MEGA KIT PLUS - Get your site ranking higher in the search engines
Better Product SEO URL's - Perfectly structured product links
SEO URL's Route Editor PRO - Make ANY url on your site have clean keywords - even third party extensions (remove index.php)


Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by OC2PS » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:24 am

Jay, Can Uber SEO also handle multiple domains/subdomains? I would like to use different domains/subdomains for different languages.....
e.g.
www.domain1.com for default language
de.domain1.com for German
nl.domain1.com for Dutch
www.domain2.com for French
es.domain2.com for Spanish
etc.

OC2PS
OC 2.3.0.2, vQmod 2.6.2, Journal2 theme
Arcfesték, Csillámtetoválás, Henna
Image
Check out: All my extensions | My FREE extensions


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:15 am
Location - Hungary

Post by JAY6390 » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:30 am

it works on multistore sure, but it won't switch languages based on the subdomain

ImageImageImage

SEO MEGA KIT PLUS - Get your site ranking higher in the search engines
Better Product SEO URL's - Perfectly structured product links
SEO URL's Route Editor PRO - Make ANY url on your site have clean keywords - even third party extensions (remove index.php)


Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by OC2PS » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:36 am

I mean it should show
For English

Code: Select all

http://demo.jaygilford.com/en/p/41/imac/
For French

Code: Select all

http://demo.jayg.fr/fr/p/41/french-imac-title/
The trouble is I don't want to create multistore just because I have multiple languages. But for each language, I do want to have a different domain, not the least because Google and other search engines consider TLD for regional targeting.

OC2PS
OC 2.3.0.2, vQmod 2.6.2, Journal2 theme
Arcfesték, Csillámtetoválás, Henna
Image
Check out: All my extensions | My FREE extensions


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:15 am
Location - Hungary

Post by magzen » Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:20 am

OC2PS wrote:I mean it should show
For English

Code: Select all

http://demo.jaygilford.com/en/p/41/imac/
For French

Code: Select all

http://demo.jayg.fr/fr/p/41/french-imac-title/
The trouble is I don't want to create multistore just because I have multiple languages. But for each language, I do want to have a different domain, not the least because Google and other search engines consider TLD for regional targeting.

Hello,

Did you find a solution for what you was looking for? If you did would appreciate if you can share, since iam starting a new webshop and looking for having such a function.

/magzen

My Opencart Stores
http://www.crea-diem.com
http://www.bazaargadgets.com


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:04 pm


Post by cue_sumit » Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:35 pm

Hi magzen

I also need language code in URL. Can you please share code with me how can i rewrite URL as per language select. I am using opencart 2.3.0.2 with 2 different language english and thai but need to add language code in URL like.

https://www.demo.com/th/i-phone-th/
https://www.demo.com/en/i-phone/

Please help me

Thanks
Sumit Patel

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:28 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests