Post by BISIdesigns » Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:45 pm

Being a web designer, I have a lot of customers worried about PCI-compliance and I am finding nothing about this with OpenCart. I also do not see anything saying OpenCart has passed the PA-DSS requirements. My customers accept Authorize.Net so this is a very important issue for them as they look for options.

BISI Designs
Professional Website Design
http://www.bisidesigns.com

Post by Qphoria » Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:11 pm

PCI-DSS is at the server level
PA-DSS typically comes down to the payment modules. They are "modular" so it wouldn't be at the opencart general level.

To summary.
You are PCI-DSS compliant if your site (as a whole) is secured. This mainly focuses on your server for things like xss, unblocked ports, unauthorized ssh access, outward facing db ports, etc
You are PA-DSS compliant if your payment extension doesn't store card data of any type, especially not the CVV code. It is allowed to save the card number for modules that offer the ability to store card data for future use, but that has its own set of additional rules. By default, all OpenCart payment extensions are PA-DSS compliant. The software as a whole is PCI-DSS compliant. But your server also has to be tested for its part of PCI-Compliance

Administrator

Post by BISIdesigns » Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:19 pm

Qphoria wrote:PA-DSS typically comes down to the payment modules. They are "modular" so it wouldn't be at the opencart general level.
Can you please elaborate on that more? What do you mean by they are modular and not at the opencart level? Other shopping carts are having to rewrite the payment modules even when they do NOT store credit cards and DO support SSL's in order to pass PA-DSS requirements. According to PA-DSS, the shopping cart vendor is responsible for making sure the payment modules are compliant.

Authorize.Net is a module that comes in the boxed download of opencart so how is that not on opencart to make sure it is compliant?